Visite nuestro sitio/Visit our home page:

Jewish Tours Argentina



SAN CRISTOBAL: Santa Fe Province, San Cristobal district
     The town was founded on 21 October 1890. Along with others, Jews from Poland and Russia arrived. The 2000 Jewish population was twenty families, most with mixed marriages. Sociedad Israelita de San Cristsbal, 804 Pueyrredon Street, Gregorio Sorkin, President, (03408) 422-314. Burials were in Monigotes or Moises Ville. [December 2003]

SAN GREGORIO: also see Entre Rios and Villa Dommnquez
      Former name: Colonia Sonnenfeld. Located in the center of Entre Rios province, the town is 355 km from Buenos Aires, 50 km from Basavilvaso, 35 km from Villa Clara, 22 km from Villaguay and Ingeniero Sajaroff, and 17 km from Carmel. Sonnenfeld Colony was a bit outside Villa Dominguez (about 7 km) and was laid out like a Russian shtetl. The town functioned as a Chevra Kadisha for the area, the community of 52 Jewish families founded the first Jewish cemetery in Entre Rios province (1892) from land belonging to Aaron Yankelevich. The cemetery preceded the synagogue by one year. Named for Leven Sonnenfeld, director of the JCA, the name San Gregorio refers to the nearby woods. In the cemetery, parakeets fly among the eucalyptus and azerderach trees planted by the founders of the cemetery.

     The "rice capital" of Argentina, San Salvador is in east central Entre Rios province, 62 km SW of Concordia and 60 km NE of Villaguay on Route 18. 419 km from Buenos Aires, 50 km from Hambis, 45 km from Pedernal, and 14 km from General Campos. 

 In San Salvador district with Walter Moss, General Campos, Arroyo Grande, and Las Colonias. The city has wide, tree-lined streets and unusual landscaping of palms, espumillos, and imported acacias. The town containing thirteen rice mills was called "las siete de la Jewish", JCA's seven colonies: Lopez and Berro (SW), Palmar and Yatay, Ubajay (SE), Walter Moss and Curbelo (N), and Santa Isabel (E). San Salvador was founded in 1889. Ashkenazi Jews arrived in 1907. 11,100 hectares were divided into plots and distributed among Creoles and immigrants with San Salvador as the cemetery. Rice in Entre Rios province was first grown (about 1932) in this area. In the 1940s, the population was about 4,000 with 600 Jews. In 2000, 35 Jewish families live among the population of 12,000.

     On National Route 18 between Villaguay Grande and Sandoval Rivers in central Entre Rios province were Domingo Calvo and Baron Guinsburg colonies. Baron Guinsburg also was called San Vicente for the ranch that existed before JCA purchased it. Of those colonies, only the cemetery remains. San Vicente's Jewish population dates from 1893 when 45 families arrived. The synagogue dates from 1906-1952.
    State of Santiago, bounded by the States of Salta and Tucuman on the northwest, La Rioja on the west, Cordova on the south, Sante Fé on the east, and by the Territory of El Chaco on the northeast. November 1997 Report from Argentina JGS President Paul Armory: Santiago del Estero cemeteries: 200 burials. Source: Ing. Paul Armony, Presidente, Sociedad Argentina de Genealogia Judia

       UPDATE: Population 700,000+ in N and known for its thermal waters of Rio Hondo. Towns: Colonia Dora and Santiago del Estero. The city, the oldest provincial capital in Argentina (1553), is 1,070 km from Buenos Aires and 179 km from Colonia Dora. The greatest Jewish population in Santiago del Estero was the 1950s: 180 Ashkenazi and 20 Sephardic families, most from Colonia Dora. 2000 Jewish population was 32 Jewish families out of 212,000 total. No synagogue ever existed but a Sociedad Israelita de Soccoros Mutuos, 146 La Plata Street (Victor Mondschein, (0385) 421-4034 opened in 1930 with a prayer room and Hebrew school.
SANTA FE Province:
     In NE Argentina, towns of Moises Ville, Palacios, Las Palmeras, Monigotes; Ceres, Montefiore, San Cristobal [December 2003]

Located in the northwest of the Argentine Republic at 26º28' S 64º30'.
We have records obtained from anniversary day sheets from Tucuman, around 1200. Source: Ing. Paul Armony, Presidente, Sociedad Argentina de Genealogia Judia, 

     Formerly Colonias Palmar and Yatay in NE Entre Rios province, 57 km from the beach in Colon, 14 km from "Palm Forest National Park" (Parque Nacional El Palmar) on National Route 14 (El Camino Real) from Buenos Aires to Brazil, 372 km from Buenos Aires, 51 km from Concordia, 45 km from General Campos, 35 km from San Salvador, 35 km from Pueblo Cazis, 40 km from Hambis, and 25 km from Pedernal. Trucks on the dangerous road called "La ruta de la muerte" replaced the railroad that linked the towns. The two colonies of Palmar and Yatay mentally merged because of their close geographic proximity. The 11,368-hectare colony was named for the native Yatay palm tree. Fifty Jewish families, mostly Ashkenazi Jews from Russia, founded the colony in 1912. In 1939, 108 Jewish families lived in Ubajay, 45 of them farmers. In 2000, only three Jewish families remained out of the general population of 2,000. City Hall is located at 147 Caraguata Street, 0345-490-5090. Open 7 a.m. to 1 p.m.

VENEZIANI: See RIVERA. Veneziani is 10 km north of Rivera. Settled in 1937 by 36 Jewish farmers from Germany (and one Polish Jewish family), the town was abandoned in 1980. Any burials probably were in Rivera. [December 2003]


VILLA ALCARAZ: also see Entre Rios
     In northeast Entre Rios province, 102 km from Parana on Provincial Route 127, 530 km from Buenos Aires, 125 km from La Paz, 47 km from Avigdor, and 25 km from Bovril. Most streets are unpaved. 2300 is the 2001 population. The 9,239-hectare colony of Leonardo Cohen, founded 1924, is east of the railroad; and Colonia Luis Oungre, founded in 1925 or 1931 with 13,835 hectares by 28 settlers, is to the west. These two colonies and Avigdor were the final settlements of European Jewry in Argentina. The economy is still a mixture of dairy, orchards, poultry, and agriculture. City Hall: intersection of Colon and San Juan Streets. M-F, 7 a.m. - 1 p.m. VILLA ANGELA: also see CHACO province
     Located in SE Chaco province. Villa Angela is 1017 km from Buenos Aires, 195 km from Resistencia, 96 km from Presidencia Saenz Pena, and 78 km from Charata. Villa Angela City Hall, 8 1st de Mayo Street, 
     The first Jewish settlers arrived in 1905 from Santa Fe province (Moises Ville and Montefiore). In 1914, the railroad arrived bringing twenty Sephardic families from Marrakech and families from Poland to relatives already there. They came for tax-free land. Then, in the 1940s, crops failed for the 120 Jewish families living there. The current 31,500 population has 26 Jewish families. The Jewish Cultural and Philanthropic Association, 81 Ruvadavua St., Jacobo Garber, founded in 1927, was struck by fire on 9 October 1970, destroying the arch, three torahs and the minute book. Now, Yom Kippur is the only official holiday held there. VILLA CLARA: also see Villaguay, Colonia Espmndola and Entre Rios
     Located 395 km from Buenos Aires, 80 km from Basavilvaso, 37 km from San Gregorio, 30 km from Villa Dominguesz, 25 km from Villaguay, 19 km from Carmel, 15 km from Ingeniero Sajaroff, and 10 km from San Vicente. Former name: Colonia Bilez and called "Doll Town." Clara was the name of Baroness Hirsch. Founded in 1902, the clay-soil colony was 80,265 hectares with a wide, 2 km long round lined with pioneer homes. This rice-growing center was the training center for JCA; settlers were required to complete training here to receive land. Water came from a city pump; electricity arrived in 1930, but only for streetlights. Water and electricity to individual homes came only in 1970. The current population is 3,400. At one time, the Jewish population was 1,000. A museum (Museo Historico Regional de Villa Clara) at San Martmn Avenue and Baron Hirsch Street at Old Villa Clara Train Station has useful information. Contact Zulema Danses de Fink, 

 Director: Fabiana Quiroga.

VILLA DOMINGUEZ: also see Villaguay and Entre Rios
     18 km SE of Villaguay in the "center" of the Clara colony (named for Barsness Hirsch) of Entre Rios Province was founded in 1892. Site of agricultural cooperative, Fondo Comunal Sociedad Cooperativa Agricultural Cooperative Company and Community Fund: the town originated as three ranches of which only one remains (San Manuel) and eventually was home to the first Jewish Hospital in South America. Probably, burials were in San Gregorio Jewish Cemetery, 7 km away. [December 2003]

VILLAGUAY: also see Entre Rios and San Gregorio
     Located in central Entre Rios province, Villaguay was an inn halfway between Concepcion del Uruguay and Parana River and later named Santa Rosa de Villaguay. Until 1873, the town was under military control. Ashkenazi Jews from Ingeniero Sajaroff, Perliza, Desparramados, Villa Clara, and Villa Dominguez settled there. Tourism contact: Sergio Miranda (Mirst Travel), 301 Colon Street, Villagua, . Jewish Argentine Association of Villaguay: 567 Balcarce Street, Contact Silvio Teveles,  Jewish population in 1952 was 120 Jewish families. 2001 Jewish population was fifty families of the population of 54,000. Apparently, Villaguay Jews used the San Gregorio Jewish Cemetery. [December 2003]





Next Page

Read about our specially designed tours Click here to know who we are Customers Testimonials  Site map  
News and Media  Prices Directory of Synagogues  
More info? Click here to send us an email

Terms and Conditions

Related links Other services